I have never felt so out of place more than I have lately.

You can call me G. My Dad is Creek Ndn and my mom is white. They are still married. I am married. I married a black man. I was raised to love who I am and see no color. I wasn’t taught prejudice. I was taught that you worked hard and if you need help, take help and give help when you can.  My Dad overcame an addiction to alcohol and my mom has spent a lifetime overcoming mental imbalances.

I feel like society in the United States is trying to segregate once again. I know that contributing factors are young black men dying at the hands of white police officers and the Charleston Church shooting. Such sad things have happened. Out of it all I thank God for the families of the victims, giving God glory through their forgiveness.

I feel like I can’t be proud. I can’t be proud to be white because of all the recent hurt by white hands. I can’t be proud to be Ndn because by only being a half blood I’m not valuable. My immediate circle is all black and I know they love me but I will never know what it means to be black. Although no one has told me I am rejected that is how I feel.

I fit in with God. And this in between place I’m in, someone else has been here and someone else will be here. My struggle will become my testimony. I want to be a good witness for Christ. I want to raise my children to be proud of who they in their racial background but at the same time realize they are so much more than that. They are valuable children of God who have their place on this earth. I will capture that meaning for myself. And my husband will be by my side encouraging me along the way.

Leave a comment